Horse Racing: Epsom’s Oaks has been throwing up big priced winners

At 50/1 Qualify was the co-longest priced winner of the Oaks in the race’s 239 year history. And, with six of the last 11 Oaks winners starting at 20/1 or greater, this is certainly a race where you can expect a turn-up.

However, the list of winning trainers still reads like a ‘who’s who’ of top-flight horseracing and small staking punters could do worse than make their selections based purely on what yard a horse hails from.  Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien is the most successful handler in recent times, claiming the Oaks five times.

There is no defined trial race which has consistently thrown up Oaks winners. The Lingfield Oaks trial has been a particularly fruitless source of winners, 1999 was the last time a winner of this race went on to claim the Epsom classic.  As for the 1000 Guineas, the last time a Guineas winner went on to win the Oaks was 2002 when Kazzia claimed both races.

The Oaks is now staged on the eve of the Derby meaning new account holders can take advantage of online sportsbooks abundance of special introductory offers which are unveiled during this week, the first week in June.

Of course ante-post betting is available on the Oaks throughout the year when huge prices can be found about a long list of hopefuls.  

Epsom Oaks Previous Winners


  • 2017 Enable 6/1 L Dettori J Gosden
  • 2016 Minding 10/11F R Moore A O’Brien
  • 2015 Qualify 50/1 S Heffernan A O’Brien
  • 2014 Taghrooda 5/1 P Hanagan J Gosden
  • 2013 Talent 20/1 R Hughes R Beckett
  • 2012 Was 20/1 S Heffernan A O’Brien
  • 2011 Dancing Rain 20/1 J Murtagh W Haggas
  • 2010 Snow Fairy 9/1 R Moore E Dunlop
  • 2009 Sariska 9/4 F J Spencer M Bell
  • 2008 Look Here 33/1 S Sanders R Beckett
  • 2007 Light Shift 25/1 T Durcan H Cecil
  • 2006 Alexandrova 6/4F K Fallon A O’Brien
  • 2005 Eswarah 13/2 R Hills M Jarvis
  • 2004 Ouija Board 11/2 K Fallon J Dunlop
  • 2003 Casual 9/2 M Dwyer A Balding
  • 2002 Kazzia 9/1 F Dettori S Suroor
  • 2001 Imagine 11/1 M Kinane A O’Brien
  • 2000 Love Divine 13/2 R Quinn H Cecil
  • 1999 Ramruma 10/1 K Fallon H Cecil


We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply